Beer Dabbler 2014

(Crap! I meant to post this like a week ago, but I guess it was stuck in my editing box. Sorry about that guys! Feel so lazy now…)

20131104_beer-dabbler_91

http://www.thebeerdabbler.com/ 

                The New Years is passed, the first cold snap hit, and as always at this time of year the Beer Dabbler is just around the corner.

                Taking place in the ginormous area that is the State Fair Grounds (or at least the Midway), the Dabbler (for those still unaware… as I was until recently -cries-) is the biggest outdoor Beer Festival in the State (and I’m sure it rivals a few others outside it, though don’t quote me on that). Showcasing and sampling beers from over 150 different local and national breweries, this even is sure to shoo away all the winter cold Mother Nature keeps trying to throw at us.

Dabbler-Crowd_gallery_header

                Of course there’s more than just Beer to be offered; entertainment is key and expected in these events, with a full lineup of Live Bands and Music (which is yet to be up), Wynchfest’s typical Snowboard course to watch professionals shred, a “Silent Disco” (no clue, I’m hoping it’s not what it sounds like), and an attempt to break a Guinness World Record. That’s right, this year those at the event will help participate in the World’s Largest Snowball Fight!

                Various vendors and of COURSE Food Trucks will be there as well to better accompany the many alcoholic exchanges. And though they have yet to get a list up of who all will be there, I’ll be sure to update when (or, more realistically, if) they get around to it on the site.

FD_BeerDab_Mayor_gallery_header

                The Dabbler will be taking place on Saturday 25th, from 3:30-7:30pm as stated, with regular entrance tickets being $35 online beforehand ($50 if buying at entrance), which allow one to try aaalllll the beers on sample for free (they also had V.I.D. tickets for $99, but they’re already sold out). As far as travel goes, for those unable or not feeling like driving a car good news, as the local metro buses are giving free rides along routs to the Fairgrounds (provided you show them the downloadable “voucher” for it on the site).

                And that’s about all I can say about it, as any attempt I could make in going into FURTHER detail of the event would pale in comparison and skill versus what one can find on the site itself or from more able-fingered local magazines and experienced bloggers. And sadly, despite a huge love of beer and desire to attend I doubt I’ll actually be able to go this year and further report on the street food (and ok, some beer) findings in person. Varying work schedule and monetary budges can just be a bitch can’t they?

                For those who do go, have fun, good eating, but especially good drinking! Look forward to various other blogger’s more detailed and beer-centered reviews/reactions to the day’s events afterwards!

2 thoughts on “Beer Dabbler 2014

  1. Ok, so I was going to put up another post on the updates, but considering my annoyingly forgetful late entry I’ll just put the list of participating Trucks down here in the Comments. Vendors will thus include:
    Fork in the Road
    Tot Boss
    Twisted Fork Grille
    Tiki Tim’s
    R.A. Mac Sammy’s
    Potter’s Pasties
    Natedogs
    I ❤ Coffee Minnesoota (god I wanna go to them soon)
    Asian Invasion (ditto)
    Grill & Ladle (first time hearing of these guys, I'll be keeping my eyes peeled for upcoming review opportunities!)
    Gastrotruck
    As usual, my apologies in this egregious mis-step in my postings, I thank those who still read me for their patience. For those participating in the Dabbler tomorrow, have fun! For those not… my apologies, cuz apparently they're sold out (didn't think they could do that…)

Leave a Reply

