Sun, Food, and Artwork

SAMSUNG

           This weekend in NE saw quite the flood of bands, people, and food as the Minnesota Art-a-Whirl kicked off. With specific goals in sight, I headed down early Saturday, taking full advantage of the unexpected hours of sunlight (all day warnings for rain, and we don’t get a lick of it after the morning). With me to spend time roaming around and chowing on food was of course my awesome cousin Kyle.

SAMSUNG

            That’s him making another goofy face when I asked him to pose.

SAMSUNG

            First stop was of course Casket Arts, hosting Franconia Sculpture Park and Guerilla Furniture Designs, but more importantly it was the site of the two trucks at the very top of my “Most Wanted” hunting list: Taco Taxi and Waffle Van/L’etoile du Nord.

SAMSUNG
SAMSUNG

            To my oh-so-happy surprise, these weren’t the ONLY Trucks on my hunting list I got to visit. Parked in the lot just in front of Casket was Ruhland’s Strudel Haus, that State Fair-looking white behemoth that’s oh-so difficult to figure out when they’re not appearing as the “Farmer’s Market Stand” (where they just sell frozen, whole streudals from a big ice box).

SAMSUNG

            Suffice it to say reviews of all three shall be coming in down the week.

SAMSUNG
SAMSUNG

            Of course it’s not a big, area-wide event without various bands in marked-off, wrist-band-required areas. Indeed, 612, and Anchor Fish and Chips all had hosting duties, along with at least one food truck for their hungry guests (612 had both Melch AND MO, quite the combo). Anchor obviously hosted itself, with Indeed bringing in a Beer Truck alongside Gastro.

SAMSUNG

            Then of course there was the art. I would love to attempt to recall and put into words the various things places I stopped at, but there are many people who are much more qualified and skilled at doing that for events such as this. I’ll just stick to my Food Trucks, and for now here’s a few other pictures I took of cool things (Like a old jazz band traveling the sidewalk!).

SAMSUNG
SAMSUNG
SAMSUNG
SAMSUNG
SAMSUNG
SAMSUNG

            Sadly, I did not have the chance to visit my beloved glass blowers, they were just too far away from the main NE area to walk, which I would have had to do as I took advantage of the Free Bus Ride system vs driving. Oh well, maybe next year.

One thought on “Sun, Food, and Artwork

  1. Pingback: St. Paul Art Crawl – Fall 2013 | Reviews on Wheels

Leave a Reply

