2013 Begins

            After many long months, including two that shouldn’t have even come into the picture, the Food Truck Season is once more upon us! The sun is shining, the snow is gone (finally), and we no longer need to waist that precious minute wondering if we need a hat before going outside. This Thursday marks the year’s first Lunch by the River, WITH MUSIC, as St. Paul’s parks once again become filled with various vendors (for those curious, this week’s River mix includes Neato’s, Home Street Home, Café Racer, and Cupcake Social).

SAMSUNG

            My first day back in the city from my trip, and I was treated to one of my favorite sites: clear, sunny Minneapolis streets, with the now-nostalgic site of Trucks lining Marquette between 7th n 8th (with of course the random few on various blocks around).

SAMSUNG

            It was great to see some of our old originals back in their proper spots once more. Hola hanging out on the side, Chef Shack in the back, and World Street taking a surprise vacation from their popular spot near the lightrail to stand front and central near 6th on Marquette. Gotta say I love the menu I saw on them yesterday; it’s actually somewhat refreshing to see the YumYum Bowl absent, letting the other items shine ever more.

SAMSUNG

            These weren’t the only fun things I was able to see, though; besides four, count them, FOUR new Trucks all on the street at the same time, my eyes caught something… interesting. Walking down the street, just about to cross 7th, and right in front of my eyes I see a car turning the light, and what’s it dragging behind it but this big orange cart (think Dandelion Kitchen-style construction) with the word “Em-Con-Ada” written in blue across the sides. Before speeding away I was able to make out “Empanadas in a Cone,” or something like that, just underneath. I apologize for not being able to snag a picture; believe me I tried, my very first reaction being to turn around and run after it down the street with phone-camera fumbling in my hands. But alas, lost it in traffic before I could snap anything decent.

            HOWEVER! I’ve done a bit of searching and found a promising facebook page (link here), signifying a just-beginning, soon-to-start Truck operation. Now, if only they actually had some information and posts on the site and we wouldn’t be so in the dark…

SAMSUNG

            Walking along Marquette for lunch, I shared a little convo with Racer’s main guy (tried to key him for info on Emconada, but he was just as stumped as myself), and continued to my exploration of some of our new additions to the line-up. Mustachios and Moral Omnivore immediately took hold of my attention, and thus tempted me into sampling both of them. As such, look forward to reviews of each within the next couple days.

SAMSUNG
SAMSUNG

            Standing out like a giant packet of Lifesavers, “Lulu’s Street Food” is probably the most colorful and psychedelic Truck design I’ve ever seen in the state (sorry Sauced, they’ve got you beat; don’t worry, your artwork is still my favorite in overall design). It was hard to tell if there’s any theme, as 4 of their menu items were already crossed off and sold out by the time I arrived(thus why I didn’t eat and review; I want to ensure I do it when everything is there, thus getting as close to an accurate review for readers as I can). I did get a glance at Ahi Tuna sliders along with their Cubano, so I’m guessing just a simple keeping to different forms of holdable items.

SAMSUNG
SAMSUNG

            With a few storefronts to their name already, and from what I’ve heard a bit of a fan base, “Falafel King” has now come out with their very own Truck. Set up like Tacqueria, the new Greek-based Truck I’ve seen around, and Holy Land when it was at the Fair, the menu stays to a full display of all their offerings. As such it’s less like a Food Truck and more like a mobile version of the actual restaurant, from what I can see; pricing seems very fitting to the street though. Considering things, I think I can safely assume they have quite the uphill battle in fighting through the many comparisons we are likely to make with Foxy. It’ll be interesting to see what they have to truly differentiate themselves from this already well-engrained favorite of the city.

SAMSUNG
SAMSUNG

            Though, trucks weren’t the only things new today. AZCanteen, hanging out with Chef Shack in sharing 8th/9th street, has added a Hot Dog and Potato Side to their menu. Not too sure about the dog, apparently it’s sourced from a good butcher and paired with a Mustard made from Indeed beer. I’m sure it’s good, but being regular sized (as the chefs told me), I find the pricing of $7 a little unappealing. The Smashed Potatoes though… I heard them describe these, and they are a MUST get for anyone visiting. I’ve seen the technique a couple times, and it always yields an amazingly crispy, crunchy, fantastic potato. The little guys a gently simmered, smushed down so the flesh bursts out, then fried with the skin still on. Trust me when I say, these are amazing… better than most fries.

SAMSUNG
SAMSUNG

            I did end up getting something; with the Dulce Ice on the menu, I took the chance to finally try it out. And it IS good; layered with the many small cubes of poundcake and leche caramel, carefully stirred (cuz that thing is loaded… can be quite messy if not taking time), it created a fun homage to the traditional Spanish Granita. At the end, I actually found it quite nostalgic; it sort of reminded me of my days as a kid, going to Dairy Queen and getting my favorite “Butterscotch Dilly Bar” out of the freezer. The ice still hanging on the bar, the interesting caramel, even the taste of the stick is reminiscent in the poundcake (which I think was actually a bit overcooked in this batch… was quite dry unless REALLY soaked in caramel and melted ice). Overall I was quite the happy camper.

SAMSUNG

            The season has started out with a bang, much as the year before it. If that was any indication, I shake in excitement just considering the potential growth our Culture shall experience over the coming season. Until then, I wish good luck to the many new Trucks to hit the street, and Good Eating to the rest of us!

4 thoughts on “2013 Begins

  1. I ate at Dandelion Kitchen last week and it was glorious! I’m curious to see what you think of Mustachio’s… they have a new chef this year. They are sort of owned (?) by the Nomad Pub, which I frequent.

    • Funny you bring it up, was just in the middle of putting my review for them together; new chef huh, that be interesting. Thanks for the heads up. Btw, any new items in Dandelion, or changes in general?

  2. Pingback: 2013′s First River Day and some updating Reviews | Reviews on Wheels

  3. Pingback: Emconada | Reviews on Wheels

Leave a Reply

