A Moment of Silence for the Departed

           No collective group of similar businesses goes through their years, early and long, without casualties. The world of Food Trucks is no different; I myself can use all the fingers on one hand to recall some of the establishments to have disappeared from our many ranks. Some cut down too early before their time, some simply fizzing out in the shadow of other blazing fires, and one which simply moved.

          Whatever the reason, I would like to take a moment of silence to honor and respect those little businesses which have come and gone from our Streets. We may not be able to samply you, but those who know shall always remember these names:

bd

The Brothers Deli

           A small, ubiquitous little metal cart found parked on Nicollet, Brothers served up the best Deli-style sandwiches. I loved their pastrami, not to mention the various dressings used to garnish the sourdough and rye. A side of hand-fried chips or knish, adjusted slight, would have certainly highlighted as a fantastic Toe Ring in our cities’ selection.

bd2

Cook n Wheels

          Though technically not departed or out of business, Cook and Wheels has taken quite the departure from the street due to repair issues. I certainly wish them a speedy recovery.

Magic Bus

mb

          If still here, Magic Bus would have certainly vied alongside Natedogs as the top Hot Dog in the city. Big and purple, it stood out wherever it went, mostly sticking towards special fairs and events. I remember the one day I had the chane to sample them; their nice, snappy dogs loaded with hand-made, unique toppings. I wanted to try two different ones, but only one dog, so they did a half-n-half thing for me; both the beet slaw and the papaya relish. So good.

mb2

          But alas, they have taken themselves to the Road, moving to Colorado for a different shop to set up. I truly hope and pray for the season in which they can come back to their home grounds.

Origins Coffee and Tea

          Released a couple years back, Origins sadly didn’t even make it through year’s end. Focusing purely on drinks, slinging craft coffees to the early morning and lunch crowds. Though noticing them on the street, I never got the chance to sample, food-focused as I am.

oc

Yummi

          Having read an article noting their recent selling of the truck, I can honestly say I am not too surprised at their passing. As this is a moment of “honoring,” I shall not go into details on my opinions. I did see so much potential though… it’s a shame they never got the chance to reach it.

y

          And there may be even more that I am currently unaware of. For now, we pay homage to those who have gone, and those future trucks not destined to last. Let us hope that those owners are back on their feet, and wish them Good Luck in their future.

 

Do you have any good memories of a departed Food Truck? Any other Minnesotan businesses you would like to honor?

 

Leave a Reply

