Get Sauced

gs1

http://chefdrivencompanies.com/home/get-sauced/ 

https://twitter.com/ChefDrivenCo

 

Main Location: St. Paul, Office Buildings, Etc

            Ask any Lawyer scouting your local Hospital parking lot, there can be nothing more annoying, frustrating, and downright exhausting than “the Chase”. Yet as he and all the rest of us know, there is almost no better feeling of exhilaration and satisfaction when you finally CATCH that frantic target, hold it down with your bare hands and shove your teeth into its thick, hot neck vein, watching its eyes slowly go dark as the life slowly…

          I’m sorry, I was watching National Geographic and got carried away… Back to my point.

          One of the biggest draws to us Food Truck Foodies is the idea of the “chase.” Every single week of “hunting season” is spent looking on sites, reacting to news and gossip, then finding our prey’s main “watering hole/s.” Nowadays, that’s pretty quick and simple, very rarely do we have to experience that “challenge,” that one fleeting truck that we just can’t catch.

          It happens though. For me, that truck was Get Sauced.

          I remember 2011; I was downtown often, going to all the new trucks. I knew every single one. Then one day I was walking, and I see this white truck turn a corner; it was big, white, and had this sick art design on the side. Recognizing the kind of truck was easy, but I had never seen it before.

          Didn’t think about it much, until I saw it again a few weeks later while driving, and then again sometime after that. I was shocked; there was this truck I kept seeing driving but never on the street that I had no way of finding. The little hunter in the back corner of my brain set off; I went about my school life and work like usual, but he didn’t want to rest.

          Then one day I finally see it parked, on the street, with that familiar art design on the side: “Get Sauced.” I literally ran to the other side of Marquette to finally see what it was and place my first order.

          Get Sauced serves pulled meats and tacos with both Mexican and Asian based flavor options. Menu options change upon whim and season, so different visits will often yield different sides and fillings. The format is simple; you decide the pulled meat, then you choose what sandwich or taco style you want.

          Either way one can enjoy a very flavorful and on-point lunch while admiring the truck’s artwork, done by local Peter Hankee.

gs2

Food: 8.5

           You know that feeling when someone asks “if you can describe –blank- in one word, what would it be?” and you just want to strangle them? That does not happen here; in fact, I cannot think of another word that fits Sauced besides “Satisfying.” Sauces are simply rich and thick, meat is juicy, veggies cooked properly, textures proper, and toppings flavorful. The Asian Style taco I had was drenched in a rich ginger-soy reduction and topped with wasabi coleslaw. The resulting flavor was just… craveable; the kind of thing you want to just shove into your mouth at 1am (which, by the way, is what time it is while I’m writing this… god I want a taco).

          Only drawback for me, though using masa tortillas; there’s no double-layer for the tacos; so if things fell out, then things fell out.

gs4

Holdability: 6

          Arriving in baskets is the only relief one gets with their single-shelled taco, which, in their individuality, tend to be quite bursting with garnishes and sauce falling easily. I, myself, needed to stop in a doorway to eat my own, hand and wrist now dripping from the juices (though that was also partially due to it being winter). Can’t vouch anything for the pulled sandwiches, but assume they’re quite similar.

Price: 8.5

         Keeping around $7-8, with lower priced sides, a very reasonable menu this be.

Speed: 9.5

         A Chef-Driven Truck that knows how to streamline, none of my orders have ever felt even close to a wait. Not immediate, but you get your purchases fast and ready to eat NOW.

The TOE: 9

          A funky hand-painted art design, tacos that make you hungry in the middle of the night, and a fun attitude driven by the chefs themselves, this truck was definitely worth the chase. It can feel somewhat generic and “everyday food truck” upon first inspection, but once you go back… you just get it.

                        Tally: 41.5/50

Final Thoughts

           To tell the truth, I wasn’t actually that impressed the first time I saw their menu; it all just looked same-old, same-old. Then I had it, and again, and again just recently. Now that I think about it, I think I could safely say they are one of the best taco trucks in the city (now, do some actual masa tortillas and actually use 2 per taco like you’re SUPPOSED to, and the best spot you shall be).

           If you are ever lucky enough to have the chance, get the Mexican Corn (or however it’s called). The first thing I had, it is simply cooked corn mixed with a sour-creamy dairy sauce, scooped in a bowl and topped with queso blanco, herbs, and spices. It is so surprisingly satisfying and good; you know, it might make good stoner food.

           Other than that, grab a taco in whatever flavor you want, maybe try the pulled pork on the second or third visit.

gs3

2 thoughts on “Get Sauced

  1. Pingback: 2013 Begins | Reviews on Wheels

  2. Pingback: Motley Crew’s Heavy Metal Grill | Reviews on Wheels

Leave a Reply

