Gai Gai Thai

ggt1

www.facebook.com/gaigaithai

https://twitter.com/gaigaithai

Main Location: Markets, Etc

            I should say this flat out and get it out of the way; as far as I know, Gai Gai Thai doesn’t have a food truck. Normally, that qualification alone would make me completely disregard any notion of writing a review on them for my blog. However, reading through their page, visiting them, I have such respect and pride for what it is they do, that I just can’t bring myself to not share them with those who don’t yet know.

            GGT is, as one would imagine, a Thai and Asian-flavor based Market Stand that focuses on using local farm produce in their dishes. Their menu items change very often, depending on what’s available, and most likely, their mood, which makes it very fun to come back to. Dishes themselves don’t even present themselves as street food; these are things that one would usually expect to find in a restaurant setting. Bowls, rice dishes, salad with fried polenta sticks, you name it.

ggt2

            Breakfast/Brunch items seem to be a favorite for them, going along with the Asian coffee they crank out. The one time I visited, I had a simple dish of rice, egg, and hot sauce in the morning… I’ll let you know about it in the ratings.

            I’m hoping that more people get a chance to try them, because they do such a wonderful job with the small, comforting home-like dishes that they create.

Food: 9

           As I mentioned, the food here is like something one might find in a restaurant, and the flavor is the same indication. The dish of  rice and eggs I got at the time only comprised three ingredients (plus seasoning), yet I couldn’t get enough of it. It was so good; if anyone has ever had that PERFECT, properly done fried rice, you know what I’m talking about.

           I’ve only had that single item, and their menu comprises a variety of much different things, so I can’t fully score them. But if that rice dish is an indication, I don’t think one has to worry about what they order.

Holdability: 4

           Again, restaurant food, not street food. These are bowls, noodle dishes, salads, etc. They are made in a way where it is not difficult to eat them even while walking, but points are still going to be shaved off.

Price: 6

ggt3

            Reflecting the local produce, these are higher priced menu items; even my simple rice and eggs wasn’t that friendly on me. But it’s good, and most definitely worth it if you have the cash.

Speed: 6

            It takes a while longer to prepare food like this. That’s something one can’t get around. I myself had to wait a little longer than usual because the person cooking accidentally goofed up the egg and had to start over. But, at the same time that’s an admiral quality in someone cooking your food; they take the time to make it right. I was so happy for that. I certainly wasn’t impatient at all, and was rewarded.

The TOE: 5

            Again, this isn’t an actual food truck, and as such there are certain little things which are missing because of it. Keeping to local products, however, and that striving to make these very flavorful items filled with their love is still part of that Street Food Culture. It earns a lot of my respect and admiration.

               Tally: 30/50

Final Thoughts

            I’m not sure if this is one I would “seek out” just to get this, because you really would just be getting this. However, if you decide to go to one of the Farmer’s Markets where they happen to be located and are looking for something to eat, certainly stop by and order an item. They make a great breakfast, give good coffee, and are a good local business to support.

            The final score may be lower than a lot others that I post on here, but I still think they are a must-try for when you’re relaxing from chasing Food Trucks.

Leave a Reply

